Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Long distance Audio Communication

Status
Not open for further replies.

vishweshgm

Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,

I am very new to audio processing & I want to understand how does the audio communication work in high rise buildings?

Let's say I want to build a system which puts a microphone and a speaker in each floor of a 100-floor high rise buiding, and one central microphone, speaker at a control room. Residents can either listen or transmit audio to&from control room. How do I design the system?

Analog, digital? Resolution? Dynamics, quality, expected delay between receivers?

Here are my thoughts. Please suggest/correct me wherever you feel necessary:

1. I want to have a Wired network instead of wireless. Because radio signals might not reach every floor from control room (which I assume situated in basement). Also I want to have the delay between transmitter and reciver to be very small as in 10s of milliseconds.

2. I want to have an Analog transmitter/Processing circuit instead of digital. Because transmitting digital code over long distance is not reliable. Also I want to have better voice quality than just some 8kHz sampled signal.

I want to understand if such system is practically possible, if yes, please suggest some circuits/challenges that I should prepare?

Hi,

Analog, digital? Resolution? Dynamics, quality, expected delay between receivers?
Analog as well as digital will work. You know analog telephones worked for decades over 1000s of km.
But nowadays I´d rather go with digital systems.

Resolution, quality and so on: