Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

LDR 12V circuit design

Status
Not open for further replies.

John Tsolomitis

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all, newbie here.

I bought one of those cheap $2 solar powered garden light (to play around with) and as you might guess the light that comes off it is almost non existent. I want to use the casing and wire up a 12V bright LED with an LDR so it can come on at night. I am planning on using around 10 - 15 of these and run them off a PC power supply or simillar.

I was wondering if someone had a little curcuit design on how to do it or quickly draw something up for me with any recommendations that you may want to share.

The LED's I'm planning on using would be the T10 casing type mainly used for automotive applications.

Thanks in advance

John

There are cheap voltage comparators such as LM339 (check for less parts per package ICs) which can compare a voltage given by the LDR sensor (with its proper resistive voltage divider) and another set by you (with a preset maybe).

If you don't know your LDR value, measure its resistance at the time you want it to make the device to turn on. Make the voltage divider with a resistor of aproximately that value (that would get VCC/2 at the time you want).

There are cheap voltage comparators such as LM339 (check for less parts per package ICs) which can compare a voltage given by the LDR sensor (with its proper resistive voltage divider) and another set by you (with a preset maybe).