Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

LC oscillator configuration in PLL

Status
Not open for further replies.

lucky112

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
q.jpg

Hi, I am a student working on a PLL and down-converter circuit.
Attached pic is a simplified drawing of the circuit.
VCO needs to generate 480 MHz, and I need to find out the value of two inductors.

In the schematics, the weird thing is there are two inductors that are connected to ground.
Is it different from normal parallel-LC configuration?
I guess it's similar to Hartley oscillator config. because of two inductors.
But the base of TR is not connected to LC tank.. this is one of discrepancies.

Please help me understand this LC oscillator..
Thanks in advance.

These inductors are connected in fact series.So one inductor value will be 11.68nH excluding varicap zero bias capacitance.This value will absolutely be lower than this because varicap zero bias capacitance and mid-voltage capacitance ( for a proper VCO operation) will be added so inductor value will be quite lower than that value.

These inductors are connected in fact series.So one inductor value will be 11.68nH excluding varicap zero bias capacitance.This value will absolutely be lower than this because varicap zero bias capacitance and mid-voltage capacitance ( for a proper VCO operation) will be added so inductor value will be quite lower than that value.

Thanks a lot. Could you please help me understand how you derived the value?
If I use the equation 2*pi*f=1/root(L*C), and let c 4.7pF, then L is about 23.4nH, which is approximately (your value*2).