Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Issue with non-scan DFF in scan chain

Status
Not open for further replies.

feel_on_on

Full Member level 5
Joined
Apr 29, 2005
Messages
284
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,234
there is non-scan DFF in my scan chain .
my scan chain length is 2000, scan pattern simulation is not pass.

and I found there is several non-scan DFFs was stitched in the scan chain .


Anyone can tell me the reason ?
 

pramod_gayakwad

Newbie level 1
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,286
Re: scan chain for DFT?

In scan chain always there should be scannable flops. Non scanable flops are connected to output of scannable flops. But as U told there is all non-scannablr flops in scan chain, that means your scan stitiching was done incorrectly. Please check with your scan style, scan mode.
 

satya_422

Member level 3
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
62
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,594
Re: scan chain for DFT?

hi,
i hope you did not pass the scanability check so they are not converted in to the scan flipflops


feel_on_on said:
there is non-scan DFF in my scan chain .
my scan chain length is 2000, scan pattern simulation is not pass.

and I found there is several non-scan DFFs was stitched in the scan chain .


Anyone can tell me the reason ?
 

feel_on_on

Full Member level 5
Joined
Apr 29, 2005
Messages
284
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,234
scan chain for DFT?

I mean that several non-scan DFF,not all.I want to know why Design Compiler not replace these non-scan DFF with scan DFF,why stitch them in a scan chain?
 

sam536

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jul 4, 2007
Messages
245
Helped
50
Reputation
102
Reaction score
34
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Tokyo
Activity points
3,028
Re: scan chain for DFT?

Did you check the post dft_drc report. Does it have any Warnings?.
Once i encountred this type of issue when i was using DB mode. The reason was some modules are applied set_dont_touch attribute and cells was not replaced as scanalbe cells. check this point if its applicable..

if you have problems in analyzing the warnings,share dft_drc report or warning list in dft_drc with us.dft_drc report will definilty let you know wahts the cause for ur problem...

There are ways to exclude the flops of your interst in DB(set_scan_exclude ..) as well as XG mode (set_scan_config -exclude_elements ).

Regards,
Sam
 

rudrad

Newbie level 3
Joined
Nov 23, 2007
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,297
Re: scan chain for DFT?

If you give option set_scan_configuration -insert_shift_registers true then some flops which are one after other without any combo in between will not be scan replaced but this is correct and it will pass simulation.
 

dft_guy

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Oct 19, 2006
Messages
113
Helped
24
Reputation
48
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,298
Location
USA
Activity points
2,019
Re: scan chain for DFT?

If you give option set_scan_configuration -insert_shift_registers true then some flops which are one after other without any combo in between will not be scan replaced but this is correct and it will pass simulation.

rudrad is exactly correct - the synthesis tool will use shift registers and other flop stages without combinational logic between as is, without explicit scan replacement, I believe, by default.

I don't know about that 'set_scan_configuration -insert_shift_registers true' - maybe in an old version - but the proper way to do it explicitly these days is a 'set_scan_group' command.

John
for DFT talk/info, go to
DFT Digest
DFT Forum
 

kiranks9

Member level 3
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
59
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,648
Re: scan chain for DFT?

once u done the scan insertion, check the report properly. if non scan cells are stiched with scan cells it means scan stiching not happening properly. check with proper dc commonds
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top