Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Is it possible to implement image processing, Spartan-3?

Status
Not open for further replies.

EDA_hg81

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Nov 25, 2005
Messages
503
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
4,875
image processing spartan-3 fpga

I bought XSA-3S1000 from XESS company.
Do you think XSA-3S1000 ( XSA-3S1000 Prototyping Board with 1,000,000 gate Spartan-3 FPGA and 32 MBytes of SDRAM) is possible to implement image processing?

Thank you.
 

echo47

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 7, 2002
Messages
3,942
Helped
637
Reputation
1,272
Reaction score
88
Trophy points
1,328
Location
USA
Activity points
33,183
Yes, but "image processing" is a broad term. What type of processing do you need? The XC3S1000 is a rather small FPGA, but it still has 24 multipliers and RAM blocks, so you should be able to do some interesting things.
 

samcheetah

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
May 25, 2004
Messages
646
Helped
39
Reputation
78
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Pakistan
Activity points
6,932
i have the altium livedesign evaluation kit and it has an XC3S400 FPGA. can i implement a function related to image pre-processing like edge detection, contrast enhancement or image compression? i know that such a small FPGA wont help in computer vision or pattern recognition applications so is it possible to implement something related to image pre-processing.

and there is one other thing. has someone interfaced a CMOS camera to an FPGA?? can somebody show me sample projects?
 

echo47

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 7, 2002
Messages
3,942
Helped
637
Reputation
1,272
Reaction score
88
Trophy points
1,328
Location
USA
Activity points
33,183
The XC3S400 can do over 2 billion multiply-accumulates per second. That should make it easy to do stuff like contrast enhancement, edge detection, DCT, etc. Xilinx app note XAPP610 describes a DCT in an old XC2S200. I'm not sure what's involved in pattern recognition, but I wouldn't rule it out.
 

EDA_hg81

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Nov 25, 2005
Messages
503
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
4,875
Thank you.

According to an IEEE paper, a H.263 codec was realized by a FPGA with 400.000 gates.

I am wondering how we can decide how many gates do we need for image processing projects?
 

echo47

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 7, 2002
Messages
3,942
Helped
637
Reputation
1,272
Reaction score
88
Trophy points
1,328
Location
USA
Activity points
33,183
Don't try to translate "gate count" into FPGA size. That's an ancient concept. Modern FPGAs are not gate-level devices. You will get much better results by counting register bits, accumulators, multipliers, memories, and that sort of thing.

Try this Xilinx page. Also click the "Video and Imaging IP" link on the right side:
http://www.xilinx.com/esp/dvt/index.htm

For example, the H.263 encoder+decoder from 4i2i uses a few thousand slices in a Spartan-3. It also uses a few multipliers and quite a few block RAMs:
http://www.xilinx.com/bvdocs/ipcenter/data_sheet/4i2i_MPEG-4_Encoder.pdf
http://www.xilinx.com/bvdocs/ipcenter/data_sheet/4i2i_MPEG-4_Decoder.pdf
 

samcheetah

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
May 25, 2004
Messages
646
Helped
39
Reputation
78
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Pakistan
Activity points
6,932
echo47 said:
The XC3S400 can do over 2 billion multiply-accumulates per second. That should make it easy to do stuff like contrast enhancement, edge detection, DCT, etc. Xilinx app note XAPP610 describes a DCT in an old XC2S200. I'm not sure what's involved in pattern recognition, but I wouldn't rule it out.

over 2 billion MACs!!!!!!!!!!

if im not mistaken, only the DaVinci DSPs from TI can perform upto these levels. where did you get this figure from?
 

echo47

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 7, 2002
Messages
3,942
Helped
637
Reputation
1,272
Reaction score
88
Trophy points
1,328
Location
USA
Activity points
33,183
The XC3S400-4 has 16 multipliers. Each one can go about 150 MHz (faster if you are careful). Next to each multiplier is a convenient dual-port Block RAM (for storing data and coefficients) and logic fabric for building accumulators, pipelines, sequencers, and other stuff. 16 times 150 MHz is 2.4 billion MACs. That's not bad for a little chip that costs only $20 US in small quantity.

Now imagine what you could do with a larger Spartan-3 or Virtex familiy device. I've done 20 billion MACs in a big old Virtex-II chip. A modern Virtex-4 SX would be another five or ten times faster.
 

    EDA_hg81

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top