Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Is it possible, knowing the air gap and the selected core, to calculate its coupling coefficient?

Glebiys

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello.
I'm studying the principle of transformer calculation for Dual Active Bridge converter.

Primary/Secondary turns 36:23
Selected core ETD 54/28/19 N87 (I haven't decided on the size of the air gap yet)

e12bNYp.png

Question: Is it possible to pre-calculate the values of leakage inductance and magnetization?

Knowing Al (from the datasheet) and the number of turns, I can get the total inductance of the primary winding.

ElAeIiI.png

It turns out, knowing k (coupling coefficient) I can get the value of leakage inductance. Next, we can find the magnetization inductance.
As far as I understand, k depends on the size of the air gap.

8OSgD3m.png

I have seen the following method for calculating k:

M91LsvQ.png4983-9003-4b9c67d79576

As far as I understand, this is achievable by measurements on a working model.
It is not possible to assemble a test model now.

I found an example calculation for LLC transformer, there was k = 0.9. I have DAB and a different core.

Summary:
Is it possible, knowing the type of core and the number of turns in the winding, to determine what leakage inductance will be in total?
Is there any way to find out k for my core? Or is it determined by experimenting with a working model?
I need to know the leakage inductance in the transformer in order to determine the inductance of the external leakage inductance to obtain the required total leakage inductance.