Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Is it correct method to find the differental port impedance?

Status
Not open for further replies.

yuhohang

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Dec 22, 2001
Messages
25
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
146
Dear All
I want to find out the differental port impedance by the following method, please anyone give me the comment.
1. Use the battery to power on the circuit
2. Isolate the ground bewteen of the circuit and the network analyzer
3. Connect the "Port 1" of the network analyzer the either one of the differental port.
4. The other one differental port connect to the network analyzer ground of the "Port 1".

Is it the S11 could be equal to the differental port impedance?
 

flatulent

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 19, 2002
Messages
4,629
Helped
489
Reputation
980
Reaction score
150
Trophy points
1,343
Location
Middle Earth
Activity points
46,689
it all depends

This should work as long as you do not overload the circuit you are measuring with the network analyzer signal. Try a measurement and see if it is what you expect. Then lower the analyzer signal level with the options on the analyzer and see if the reading is the same.
 

toonafishy

Full Member level 6
Joined
Jun 18, 2002
Messages
369
Helped
38
Reputation
76
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Earth
Activity points
3,187
Port 1 of network analyzer to one end of diff circuit. Port 2 of network analyzer to other end of diff circuit. Take the S-Parameters. Put this S-parameter block in your favorite simulator. If it is @/D/S, then terminate the block with a 50 ohm termination with both ends ungrounded. Then you can read the differential S-parameters return loss. If your simulator only has grounded terminations (M/W/O), then use an ideal 1:1 transformer between the S-parameter block to the termination in order to do the diff to single ended conversion.
If you don't have a simulator, you can also calculate the diff return loss using the single ended S parameters taken above.
See R/F D/e/s/i/g/n M/a/g/a/z/i/n/e Jan 1999 page 24.
 

yingyang

Full Member level 2
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
126
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
862
differential port

What if you have four ports and how would you measured the differential port using the VNA???

:roll: :roll: :roll:
 

cray

Member level 1
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
34
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
296
>Port 1 of network analyzer to one end of diff circuit. Port 2 of network analyzer to other end of diff circuit. Take the S-Parameters. Put this S-parameter block in your favorite simulator. If it is @/D/S, then terminate the block with a 50 ohm termination with both ends ungrounded. Then you can read the differential S-parameters return loss.

if the termination port was ungrounded, how does ads defined it's port characteristic impedance? in smith chart what is our Zo?
maybe we can use 1 termination port and defined the termination port Zc=100 ohm and connect one end to port 1 of the s-parameter block and another end(terminator) to port 2 of the block. that should gives differential S-parameter return loss.

anyone know how to find a common S-parameter return loss?

can i see the following articles?
See R/F D/e/s/i/g/n M/a/g/a/z/i/n/e Jan 1999 page 24.
 

toonafishy

Full Member level 6
Joined
Jun 18, 2002
Messages
369
Helped
38
Reputation
76
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Earth
Activity points
3,187
I don't see the R/F/ design issue on their web site, it only goes back to 2000. I'll scan it in and post it later.

In @DS, if you connect a Z=x ohm termination, the resulting smith chart is normalized to x ohms. It doesn't matter if the termination is grounded or not.
 

jwei363

Member level 1
Joined
Jun 10, 2001
Messages
34
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
170
two way

1. use 1:1 transform or BALUN to measure
2. Agilent new VNA has that feature to test diff network
 

Rayengine

Full Member level 5
Joined
May 18, 2001
Messages
287
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Hong Kong
Activity points
1,737
The topic is quite interesting to me. I have read @gilent application notes on use balun before but how can we measure it on circuit with PCB size like GSM board. I think balun case is only valid on isolated component test. Have someone the RF design describe in previous mail, I also very interest on it!

Or Give us some more idea on this topic!
 

toonafishy

Full Member level 6
Joined
Jun 18, 2002
Messages
369
Helped
38
Reputation
76
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Earth
Activity points
3,187
I don't like the balun idea. It just introduces another uncertainty in the measurement. Sometimes I will use a precision 180 degree hybrid for this purpose but baluns are not very good.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top