Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Industrial plasma cutter & USB

Status
Not open for further replies.

alpk

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
industrial plasma cutter

Hi,
This is my first post here, so hopefully my question has found the appropriate forum area.

I currently work for a company that manufactures automated plasma cutters. I am a programmer by trade with experience in C++, Java, Delphi, PHP, C & Pascal in order of personal preference. For a coding junkie, I have good theoretical knowledge of electronic hardware, logic circuits, binary operations and so on. I'm not afraid of getting my hands dirty on low level design. The problem is that I lack knowledge and more importantly practical experience in the field of automated machinery and robotics.

The major aspect of my current project involves upgrading the design of a plasma cutting machine to use USB rather than the LPT port for the PC-to-Machine interface. This is to take advantage of the availability and cost effectiveness of USB-ready computer systems as opposed to outdated, increasingly difficult to source and progressively expensive LPT-enabled systems.