Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

impedance of amplifier

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bhuvanesh123

Advanced Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
i am studying bjt amplifiers,i am often getting through impedance of input and outputs . Its messing up with me
example:common collector configuration have high input impedance and low output impedance
does that input impedance is impedance between the terminal( base and collector)?
it is also said as impedance matching circuit.why common base and common emitter are not being said impedance matching circuits.Thank you in advance

common collector configuration have high input impedance and low output impedance
does that input impedance is impedance between the terminal( base and collector)?

This mode has the emitter resistor. Output is taken at the transistor's emitter terminal.

Any C-E current raises the voltage on the emitter resistor. This creates the need for greater base voltage.

Input current (B-E) must travel through the emitter resistor. This has the effect of raising input impedance.

B-E is just one portion of input impedance.

The comparison tables state input impedance as higher than common-base or common-emitter configurations. I think this means it can be high for normal operation, but it does not necessarily need to be high.

Current gain transforms to impedance between base and emitter by the current gain in each direction.

Thus CE has input impedance of β*Ze where Ze is the impedance on the emitter ( RLC)