Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

I need help selecting a logic level gate MOSFET

Status
Not open for further replies.

red913

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello
I'm fairly new to small electronics. I know the basics of ohms law and some other little things here and there about circuit basics. So I have drawn up this basic circuit and tried to provide all the info necessary to help me select the right mosfet for my application. My attempts at picking the right one have been frustrating at best as all the specs are a little confusing to me. Basically if the PIR senses movement, it'll send a signal to the Arduino, which then sends power to the mosfet to take power from a separate battery and finally activate the motor but only for a short moment and it should be fairly infrequent.

So what I've figured out so far is I need a logic gate mosfet, n-ch. Almost all will handle the 6V battery I've attached to it. But the other mosfet specs I get confused on. So if someone has a mosfet suggestion for my application I'd greatly appreciate it! :) ...and here is the circuit:
1024x768

1) You will want to put the FET in the Gnd lead of the motor if you can. As you have it drawn you are using "high side switching" which is difficult.
2) Once you move the FET a IRLD024 should work for you. IRLD024PBF-ND US$ 1.00 at Digi-Key.

Reactions: red913

red913

Helpful Answer Positive Rating