Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

I need help in designing an Automatic Tuning Unit (ATU) for HF (3-30 MHz)

Status
Not open for further replies.

SU-4

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, Im a student and we have a project where we are designing an Automatic Tuning Unit (ATU) for HF (3-30 MHz) with an antenna whip 1.5 Meter. I am in charge in designing the ATU. Basically the ATU would have to good VSWR in each HF frequencies. i use 8 toroids with which have different value of indutance. we know that antenna whip with length 1.5 m have match frequency in 50 Mhz, so if we use that antenna for HF (3-30MHz), the antenna always have capacitive behavior. i do with linearity value of inductances for each of toroid, i set value 2x, so i get value of inductances for 8 toroids is 0.5 uH, 1 uH, 2 uH, 4 uH, 8 uH, 16 uH, 32 uH, and 64 uH, but there are a gap frequency. please help me, guys. I would greatly appreciate any of your assistance. Thank you very much in advance.

An inductor that can be rotated by an servo motor to add or remove more windings and in doing so change the inductance

Reactions: SU-4

SU-4

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Probably switching just different values of 8 inductors would not be enough to cover entire range, without gaps.
You might need to switch some tuning capacitors also.

Take a look to the schematics of SGC products, which for many years they design HF automatic antenna tuners:

https://www.sgcworld.com/PubInfoPage.html

Reactions: SU-4

SU-4

Helpful Answer Positive Rating