Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

I have a question about the conditions under which the transistor dies.

RFchild

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, I’m a student.
I designed LNA using renesas’s jfet NE3511S02.
But I have some problem.
I designed the rf choke using 4 lambda, but does the length of the red hit part in the picture matter?
1716555412805.png
And I mesured the circuit using network analyzer, then the transistor is dead.
Did I accidentally design the rf choke and get a oscillation and die?
Or did TR die when soldering?
On ADS simulation, stability mu is more than 1. But stability factor k is less than 1.
Is it the matter?

Microstrip Lines and RF Connections seem to me not normal.
Transistor can be blown by anyhow such as ESD, Oscillations, unappropriated biasing.
But first of all, the layout does not look promising. There are errors.

Microstrip Lines and RF Connections seem to me not normal.
Transistor can be blown by anyhow such as ESD, Oscillations, unappropriated biasing.
But first of all, the layout does not look promising. There are errors.
sorry, I don't have enough knowledge about rf. Can you tell me some errors?

Sorry but the results are NOT satisfying. You make Design Mistakes. Review your Design and Re-Iterate.
Also..
You're using a s-parameter defined transistor model and DC supply has no importance/role at all at this level. You can replace the DC supplies with short-circuited.
You cannot see bias currents and voltages because the transistor has been modeled by small signal s-parameters. I predict a much better result from this transistor.