Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

I am a hardware board design engineer, and I want to move to Analog IC design. Will a part-time PhD help me in this?

newbie_hs

Full Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Dear Team,

This is not related to any circuit design.I need your opinion.My question is given below.

I am a hardware board design engineer, and I want to move to Analog IC design. Will a part-time PhD help me in this?

May I know whether industry consider part time PhD holders.

Regards
H

Last edited:
Dear Team,

This is not related to any circuit design.I need your opinion.My question is given below.

May I know whether industry consider part time PhD holders.

Regards
H
At the risk of sounding flippant, I think actually learning Analog IC Design is way more important than a PhD.
(And I have no idea what a "part time PhD" is; either you have one or you dont. )

If you do a Ph.D on a particular subject, it might help otherwise it'd be waste of time.
An good engineer learns to design by experience, not from papers,textbooks, etc. You should spend most of the time at labo. and practicing works.

Attachments

• Bob_Pease_Lab_Notes_2005.pdf
    3.6 MB · Views: 89
I've been doing analog IC design for 40 years and have not
even considered a PhD. In general my cohort stopped at a
Master's, tops. Roles like device physics and reliability seemed
to promote PhD as a career move. But fact is, a professor is
a lot less likely to have a practical answer to your practical
problem of the day, than the guy down the hall who solved the
same thing last year when it was his part's turn in the tank.