Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how to test stability for transient analysis

Status
Not open for further replies.

surianova

Advanced Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi!

I have a problem on how to test the stability in transient analysis.
Let say i have a opamp with 10 degree phase magin for Ac analysis
in open loop, which is consider unstable when use in negative feedback.
How i want to test it in transient so that i can see oscillation? Is it put a pulse at the input? what frequency to test? Pls advice.. .Thanks in advance..

Suria

Stability check using transient analysis is a good way to verify the open loop AC analysis. Insert a step at the input of the loop and watch how the loop settles, you will probably see a damped sinusoidal response.

I've done this in SPICE many times for verification.

But 10 deg phase margin is very low. Aim for 60 deg phase margin and 6 dB amplitude margin to be safe. Otherwise you may have problems during temperature variations, tolerance and long time drift of your design.

VSWR said:
Stability check using transient analysis is a good way to verify the open loop AC analysis. Insert a step at the input of the loop and watch how the loop settles, you will probably see a damped sinusoidal response.

I've done this in SPICE many times for verification.

But 10 deg phase margin is very low. Aim for 60 deg phase margin and 6 dB amplitude margin to be safe. Otherwise you may have problems during temperature variations, tolerance and long time drift of your design.