Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to make two RS485 signal crash together?

Status
Not open for further replies.

maniac84

Full Member level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I have a master device which will communicate with 2 slave device using RS485. These 3 devices is connected together. These 2 slave device each have different ID, let say it's ID 1 and ID 2. If master device transmit data to slave ID1, only slave ID 1 will reply. If master device transmit data to slave ID2, only slave ID 2 will reply.

So, if the user accidentally set same ID on the 2 slave devices, if master device transmit data to the 2 slave devices, normally both will reply and the signal will crash with each other making the master device receive rubbish only.

I now face the problem of no crash signal. If I set the two slave devices to same ID, their signal won't crash with each other. Both my slave device is using ATmega mcu and programmed with the same firmware. So, if both reply at the same time, normally the signal will crash, but mine won't. Do you guys know why?

What do you mean "their signal won't crash"? Unless both slaves are transmitting the exact same data at the exact same time, you are going to have collisions (not "crashes")

- - - Updated - - -

What do you mean "their signal won't crash"? Unless both slaves are transmitting the exact same data at the exact same time, you are going to have collisions (not "crashes")

How do you KNOW both slaves are transmitting?

- - - Updated - - -

How do you KNOW both slaves are transmitting?

Yes. What i mean by signal crash is signal collisions.