Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] How to know whether pic16f876's oscillator is working ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

likhin

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all,

I am new to micro-controller programming. So I decided to start with a led blink program. My chip is 16f876A. I wrote an LED blink program, and it compiled successfully generating an hex file. And this code is working perfectly on a PIC simulator, but when I burnt it to hardware, nothing seems to work.
My assumption is that, the crystal oscillator is not working. How can I check whether the oscillator is working or not( With out using a CRO)? I meant, by measuring the OSC1 and OSC2 pin voltages? I am getting a voltage less than Vdd at OSC2 pin. Is that normal? Any help from u guys will be highly appreciated, as I am desperate to see my led blinking by a pic:smile:

Extra info:

Crystal frequency: 5Mhz
Vdd: 3v
MCLR connected to VDD

compiler: CCS

code:
Code:
#include <16f876A.h>
#fuses HS,NOWDT,NOPROTECT,NOLVP
#use delay (clock = 5000000)

void main()
{

while(true){
output_high(PIN_C0);// tried all ports
delay_ms(500);
output_low(PIN_C0);
delay_ms(500);
   }
}

Check the MCLR Connection.
95_1200632863.jpg

Check for proper config setting.
Use 5Volt supply.
Replace the crystal and check. or Use RC Oscillator like the following to check:-

fig4-05.gif

Also check ground connection. Publish circuit

By the way, Have you configured those pins as output before make them high or low?

Last edited:

Check grounding capacitors are there for crystal oscillator.
Does 16F876 works with 3V supply ? check datasheet.