Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how to generate Electro magnetic pulse

Status
Not open for further replies.

hemnath

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Jun 24, 2012
Messages
692
Helped
61
Reputation
120
Reaction score
57
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Chennai
Activity points
6,522
Hi all,
I want to generate electromagnetic pulse and travel it through a SS rod.

How to generate this signal? Can anyone help me?

thanks in advance.
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
48,408
Helped
14,251
Reputation
28,763
Reaction score
12,939
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
280,133
You should be more specific.

- specify the pulse in time or frequency domain
- an electromagnetic wave can't travel "through" a conductor. A wire or rod can be part of a transmission line so that the wave is guided at it's surface
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
48,408
Helped
14,251
Reputation
28,763
Reaction score
12,939
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
280,133
Emphasis of my question should be on the word specify.
 

SunnySkyguy

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Sep 26, 2007
Messages
6,744
Helped
1,675
Reputation
3,348
Reaction score
1,644
Trophy points
1,413
Location
Richmond Hill, ON, Canada
Activity points
50,737
A pulse must be defined for Voltage, Current, Rise time , duty cycle.,
Other variables can be Power, bandwidth, energy, magnetic force, saturation level, leakage & Remanence.

The source, conductors and load must be defined in terms of impedance over frequency.

Otherwise it is undefined.

The simplest example I know is found in Espresso Coffee water pumps which operate at line frequency using a diode to half wave rectify and create a half sine pulse to the solenoid, which has internal spring mounted rod to resonate at line frequency and the rod extended to a diaphragm pump for low flow but high pressure and a fair amount of noise.
 

andre_teprom

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 7, 2006
Messages
9,252
Helped
1,151
Reputation
2,321
Reaction score
1,133
Trophy points
1,403
Location
Brazil
Activity points
53,872
I may be wrong, but considering that the stainless stell rod was specified, I guess that the purpose of this is just to make an electric spark. Anyway, we´re still awaiting for hemnath's reply.
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
48,408
Helped
14,251
Reputation
28,763
Reaction score
12,939
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
280,133
hemnath might plan a guided wave level radar. It can e.g. use two stainless steel rods or a coaxial transmission line configuration.
 

hemnath

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Jun 24, 2012
Messages
692
Helped
61
Reputation
120
Reaction score
57
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Chennai
Activity points
6,522
@FvM: yes you are right. I am planning to build guided wave level radar using the technique Time domain Reflectometry. where i would like to transmit low energy high frequency electromagnetic impulses along the stainless steel rod.
 

Warpspeed

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
May 23, 2015
Messages
2,213
Helped
754
Reputation
1,510
Reaction score
734
Trophy points
113
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Activity points
17,766
I believe the ground penetrating radar guys use a high voltage capacitor bank and a triggered spark discharge. A Google search may shed more light on that.

A more elegant way would be to use a high voltage capacitor bank formed into a pulse forming network, where you can control the shape and duration of the discharge waveform.

Generating the initial pulse is only half the problem.
The other half is designing an appropriate antenna capable of radiating the power.
 

hemnath

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Jun 24, 2012
Messages
692
Helped
61
Reputation
120
Reaction score
57
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Chennai
Activity points
6,522
My intention is to measure the fluid level in the tank using time domain reflectometry technique.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top