Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how to find inset feed point ? microstrip line ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

waqas jaan

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
please please help me out to find the microstrip line in patch antenna. i have found the width and length for it. but i don't know how to calculate:
1. feed point.
2. thickness of a substrate
3. width and length of a ground plane

please tell me, is there any formula to calculate all these parameters ?

Yes, see Balanis or Pozar.

i studied balanis but there is no such kind of formula to find the substrate thickness at resonant frequency.
please tell me what will the thickness of substrate at 10GHz. if i am using two different types of substrate FR-4 and duriod 5880 substrate.

- - - Updated - - -

also how to find the ground width and length ?????
is it 6h+W (w=width of the patch)
and 6h+L (L=length of patch, h = height of substrate) ????

The problem is that there is no explicit definition for the values you are looking for.

In my Balanis (3rd Edition), page 821, a rule of thumb is given that you h/lambda0 < 0.1. The largest impact of the dielectric height is the effective dielectric constant, for which he also gives equation 14-1.

To my knowledge, the ground plane size really just determines the amount of 'ripple' seen in the radiation pattern's main lobe. The bigger, the better, but of course practicality has to factor in somewhere. From my (limited) experience, 6x(L,W) should be fairly good. People with more expertise on patches, of which there is at least one on these forums, may be able to give you a few more pointers.