Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

How to drive a triac from a 16c54?

Status
Not open for further replies.

truvahorse

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Jun 3, 2002
Messages
18
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
79
Drive triac with a pic.

How can i drive a triac from a 16c54 with only a resistor to drive a selenoid working 220 volt 50 Hz.

Thanks advance.

You crossposted this message to several sections! I will not delete message because you already got several answers but next time your points will be substracted and thread deleted!

lightsider
 

bone

Member level 4
Joined
Aug 28, 2001
Messages
72
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
Swe
Activity points
191
You can use a optoswitch to isolate the triac from the circuit.
I think this is the safest way and easy.

//BoNe
 

truvahorse

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Jun 3, 2002
Messages
18
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
79
Thanks BoNe

I already drive triac succesfully. It is possible. But I want to learn new ideas.

Thanks again.
 

koky

Full Member level 2
Joined
May 12, 2001
Messages
145
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Italy
Activity points
1,097
the common way is the cathode of triac connected to 5V and the gate at I/O port with a serie resistor (330 ohm or less), the triac is drive with negative pulse
 

maranaza

Member level 2
Joined
Mar 27, 2002
Messages
49
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
351
truvahorse,

Read application notes of ST and Phillips, you have many examples there.
For low power microcontroller applications and use of sensitive gate triacs, cheap nonisolated supply is usual, so optoisolation is not necessary.

maranaza
 

gabby

Member level 5
Joined
Mar 18, 2002
Messages
94
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Israel
Activity points
1,239
Hi

First you have a great book that give you all the options and theory
from motorola that called: MOTOROLA THYRISTOR DEVICE DATA.

If you can get it that will great for you ,you will have all the method.


Second try at www.st.com
use search text for triac run it then cose the option appication notes only
and run the search again you will get a lot of info interfaces for traics.
http://eu.st.com/stonline/bin/fts.exe


Warning you can use the mirco without otocupller(RECOMMENDED OPTOTRIAC) but
all your design will be must isolated.

Best regards.
 

bone

Member level 4
Joined
Aug 28, 2001
Messages
72
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
Swe
Activity points
191
opto

I don't trust 220v 50 hz triac/resistor to common DC elektronic/Processor.
If I where you use the optoswitch, to isolate AC/DC!!!
Thats just mine opinion. I'm sure there is another way.
But I think this way is simple and secure!!!!

That's just my words..

//BoNe
 

GrandAlf

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Mar 9, 2002
Messages
520
Helped
47
Reputation
92
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Location
UK
Activity points
4,730
Please dont do it without opto or tranformer isolation. It may work, but could be very dangerous. After all what does an opto cost!.
 

Gemini1706

Member level 5
Joined
Jul 3, 2002
Messages
81
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,120
Just curious, what is an optoswitch, and how it works..?
I cannot imagine it as an actual optical device that will help isolate the two circuits...

Thanks in advance...
 

GrandAlf

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Mar 9, 2002
Messages
520
Helped
47
Reputation
92
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Location
UK
Activity points
4,730
Yes it is exactly that. A led (or 2 inverse parallel for AC) on the input side. Use series resistor to supply about 10ma. Output side is photosensitive Transistor/FET/SCR ect, depending on type. Isolation is usually at least 2000v. I you give me more details of what you are trying to achieve, maybe I can assist further.
 

GrandAlf

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Mar 9, 2002
Messages
520
Helped
47
Reputation
92
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Location
UK
Activity points
4,730
Just a further thought. There are speciific types of optos to directly drive triacs out there. If you do a web serch for opto triac drivers you should be able to find one that fits the bill. BTW if you using a PIC on 5V you should be looking at an series opto input resistor of around 330 ohm to 1K
 

alang_crazy

Newbie level 1
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,284
Re: Drive triac with a pic.

can help me the way to use a optoswitch to isolate the triac from the circuit?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top