Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to design variable resistors R0 to represent the frequency-dependent loss in ADS

thundrous

Newbie level 4
Joined
Oct 16, 2022
Messages
7
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
52
I am trying to replicate a result of a paper in Advanced Design System software. It is mentioned that the resistance is variable and its equation is 10e-9f (GHz) + 5.
Screenshot 2023-01-24 212907.png

When I drew the resistance in the software and wrote the formula, a syntax error showed up.

Would you please guide me on how to enter this equation? Is there any specific module I need to enter inside the equation field?

Here is their equivalent circuit:
Screenshot 2023-01-24 214536.png

and here is the equivalent circuit that I drew:
Screenshot 2023-01-24 213547.png


I would appreciate it if you please help me.
 

BigBoss

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
5,474
Helped
1,564
Reputation
3,130
Reaction score
1,464
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Turkiye
Activity points
32,996
Use equation based s-parameter blocks.
Define first s-parameters matrix of a series resistor then enter these values into equation based blocks with the variable "freq". Otherwise it will not recognize.
 

thundrous

Newbie level 4
Joined
Oct 16, 2022
Messages
7
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
52
Use equation based s-parameter blocks.
Define first s-parameters matrix of a series resistor then enter these values into equation based blocks with the variable "freq". Otherwise it will not recognize.
Thank you very much for your response, until now I updated the equivalent circuit as follows, but still I cannot reach the proper data. Do you have any idea where the problem is? Also, i do not know how to introduce the frequency as the variable "freq". I tried to but the software does not accept it.
any suggestion appreciated.

1674695530575.png



1674695587598.png

1674695623962.png
 

BigBoss

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
5,474
Helped
1,564
Reputation
3,130
Reaction score
1,464
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Turkiye
Activity points
32,996
S-parameters matrix of a series resistance ;
1674707534288.png

Here Z=R in your case.
Then use equation based s-parameter block like this.
1674708254041.png

then you will see that s-parameters are not constant versus frequency. (If the resistance was constant, s-parameters should have been constant too but they aren't due to frequency dependence of the resistance)
1674708586752.png
 

thundrous

Newbie level 4
Joined
Oct 16, 2022
Messages
7
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
52
S-parameters matrix of a series resistance ;
View attachment 180869
Here Z=R in your case.
Then use equation based s-parameter block like this.
View attachment 180870
then you will see that s-parameters are not constant versus frequency. (If the resistance was constant, s-parameters should have been constant too but they aren't due to frequency dependence of the resistance)
View attachment 180872
Thank you very much for your guidance I did what ever you mentioned in the previous comment as follows based on my current device and here is my Equivalent circuit:

1674754915668.png


S21, S11 are my experimental results and S65, S55 are for the simulation

1674754866763.png


I've got a good verification between S21 and S65, However the S55 does not seems good and it starts from -10dB
So based on the article I changed the frequency loss resistance depedance as follows: I eleiminated R=50
1674755289189.png

then the slope of S55 changed but still it starts from -10dB. It seems the variable Rlossy has lots of effect on our measurments and by changing the formula i even needed to change the capacitance C4 for validation between simulation and experiment results.


1674755235088.png


Would you please guide mewhich one is current and where did I made a mistake because S55 should start from zero.
 

Attachments

  • 1674754604649.png
    1674754604649.png
    80.5 KB · Views: 7

BigBoss

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
5,474
Helped
1,564
Reputation
3,130
Reaction score
1,464
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Turkiye
Activity points
32,996
It was my own example, not real/your one. You have to define your own formulae by yourself. It might
be anything as you desire. I dont know the process that you've been working on.
 

LaTeX Commands Quick-Menu:

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top