Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

How to convert 48VDC to 15VDC@300mA?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dudleyzty

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Apr 21, 2002
Messages
24
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
109
34063 high voltage 60v

Some modules are too expenssive,so I want to built a simple circiut to
do this.Who can give me some tips?Thanks anyway.
 

ME

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Mar 14, 2002
Messages
1,309
Helped
55
Reputation
112
Reaction score
40
Trophy points
1,328
Activity points
14,861
mc33063 60v

Actually you can use a standard LM317. Max allowed difference between input and output voltage is 40V.
In your case the difference is only 48V-15V=33V
So there is no need to use the special high voltage type (LM317HV), just use standard LM317.

LM317 data sheet: http://cache.national.com/ds/LM/LM117.pdf

If R1 is 237ohm 1%, then R2 should be 2.55kohm 1% for 15V output.
 

goodboy_pl

Full Member level 5
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
253
Helped
16
Reputation
32
Reaction score
15
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,119
voltage regulator 48vdc

33V*300mA=9.9W
It is much higher than the power capability of LM317 alone, even using a heat sink regulation maybe affected by high chip teperature.
also as u know theinput voltage may be higher than 48V, therefore it must be concerned.
for your application there is 2 solutions:
1. analog regulator such as LM317 plus a power zener at input for voltage reduction. u can use several lower power zener in series also.
2. a better and efficient way but alittle more copicated method is using integrated switchers from several manufacturers like:
www.powerint.com
www.irf.com
or even if u want u can make your own SMPS, if so refer to:
http://www.onsemi.com/pub/Collateral/HB206-D.PDF
http://www.onsemi.com/pub/Collateral/SMPSRM-D.PDF
 

dudleyzty

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Apr 21, 2002
Messages
24
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
109
Thanks a lot!

How about LM317 which is MetalCan package,maybe it has high power output?
 

goodboy_pl

Full Member level 5
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
253
Helped
16
Reputation
32
Reaction score
15
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,119
as i mentioned it is possible, but the power disspation is acceptable for your application?

again: it is better to use a zener at input to reduce power dissipation of regulator, obviousely power will be dissipated in zener so the zener must capable of dissipating it without damage. power zener are inexpensive and can be used in series for higer power.
 

ME

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Mar 14, 2002
Messages
1,309
Helped
55
Reputation
112
Reaction score
40
Trophy points
1,328
Activity points
14,861
You can also use a series resistor at the input of LM317.
Min Vin is Vout+3V=18V
Max voltage over resistor (or zener): 48V-18V=30V
Max resistor value @ 300mA max: 30V/300mA=100ohm

If you use a 80 ohm resistor you will get this dissipation in resistor @ 300mA: 300mA^2*80ohm=7.2W

The rest will be dissipated in LM317: 9.9W-7.2W=2.7W

You can use more resistors in series or parallel to spread the power dissapation.
 

flatulent

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 19, 2002
Messages
4,629
Helped
489
Reputation
980
Reaction score
150
Trophy points
1,343
Location
Middle Earth
Activity points
46,689
standard TELCO

48 V is a standard power source in telephone central offices. It may be overall cheaper to buy a ready made switching supply module.
 

BigBoss

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
4,806
Helped
1,453
Reputation
2,904
Reaction score
1,309
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Turkey
Activity points
29,010
Use a simple "pre-regulator" with a cheapest bipolar transistor ( e.g. 2N3055 or equiv.)+zener to reduce the voltage down to about 20VDC and then use LM7815. That's it.
GL
 

penrico

Full Member level 5
Joined
Aug 28, 2001
Messages
286
Helped
27
Reputation
54
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Argentina
Activity points
2,395
Use LM3578A in step down configuration, total cost is arround U$D2,50 and is capable to drain 300mA.
 

RegUser_2

Full Member level 2
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
Messages
125
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,507
Put some 12V high-current zener diode in series to the LM317 input pin
 

qinqiuer

Newbie level 3
Joined
Mar 27, 2003
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
25
ether you use LM317 or LM7815 etc, the power on

iberia said:
Use LM317HV

input 48 VDC output 1.2V to 45V

http://cache.national.com/ds/LM/LM117HV.pdf


Iberia

the power on chip is too high ,plse use DC/DC switch,

many dc/dc chip can be used, for example: MC 34063 ,is simple and cheap

if the current is small (34063 can output 500mA),you can add a transistor to improve current
 

carrier

Full Member level 5
Joined
Apr 14, 2001
Messages
240
Helped
22
Reputation
40
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Iran
Activity points
1,691
hi
use mc33063.
this provide 1.5a at output.
 

riz_aj

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Feb 5, 2002
Messages
100
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
798
48V --> 15V

You can buy a module for that kind of specs. Easier and cost-effective. Look at the link from PowerOne below.

h**p://www.power-one.com/resources/products/datasheet/imp6.pdf
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top