Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how to convert 32bit vector to a number

Status
Not open for further replies.

DNA2683

Advanced Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
how to convert 32bit vector to a real

hi
im new in the VHDL world...

i have a 32bit vector (16bit for integer and 16bit for fraction), the real number that the vector represents(fixed point) can be positive or negative

how can i convert the vector back to a real number?

Last edited:

if you mean real type, you can use the built in functions of the new fixed_point packages:

signal a : sfixed(15 downto -16);
signal b : real;

b <= to_real(a);

if you mean real type, you can use the built in functions of the new fixed_point packages:

signal a : sfixed(15 downto -16);
signal b : real;

b <= to_real(a);

I have a signal as std_logic_vector 32bit the binary data in the vector represent a real number (like 266.3256 or -751.2354 positive ot negative)...when im running a simulation its hard for my to follow the numbers as present as 32bit vector...

so what i want to do is converting the 32bit vector to a real number( like 266.3256 or -751.2354 positive ot negative) and write it eo a file so i can track the numbers..

thanks

If you give the fixed_point packages a go, you'll make your life a lot easier.
Otherwise you have to write a custom conversion function. There is no standard way to do it, as a std_logic_vector is not meant to be used to represent numbers.

If you give the fixed_point packages a go, you'll make your life a lot easier.