Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[General] How to calculate bandwidth needed high speed ADC with Serial Output

Status
Not open for further replies.

amartin32

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I want to build a analog to fiber optic link and am currently looking into using parallel ADC's with Serial outputs and then sending the serial information to a serial to fiber optic link.

Being a newbie, I do not quite understand how to calculate the amount of bandwidth I need for my system to work. I would like to transmit 4 analog signals with a sampling rate of 250 kHz and a 12 bit resolution.

Then the bit rate is 12 Mbps? (Sampling Rate needed in Hz*12 bits*# of Channels= bits per second)

From my understanding the bit rate calculated for the ADC must be 12 Msps?

I am also confused as what definition and calculation of bandwidth I should use in the context of this system?

Would this Evaluation board be used for I would like to do?
Link: **broken link removed**

I know that the Serial information is sent in the form of zeros and ones but there is no carrier frequency in serial transportation therefore I do not understand where bandwidth would come to play. Also does trouble shooting a serial transmission involve using an eye diagram?

I greatly appreciate any help.

ADS5242 is a high speed ADC, it can be operated at a minimum sample rate of 20 MSPS. So it's probably not the device you want.