Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to begin a project with microcontrollers?

Status
Not open for further replies.

seadolphine2000

Advanced Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,..

I'm a beginner in the field of ucontrollers, so I need someone to tell me in steps what to do to complete a project.

I have PIC16F84 , MPLAB 5.61 , ICPROG 105A.
I have the code written in assembly but in a notepad file.
I have a programmer(interface) that is compatable with ICPROG and MPLAB.

now my questions are:
1- Where should I write the assembly code.?
2- How to simulate the code.?
3- How to burn the program on the chip.?

Thanks for all your help and time.

pwrte mikrobasic

1. Write the assembly code using MPLAB IDE, read the help of MPLAB IDE.
2. You can use the simulator of MPLAB IDE called MPLAB SIM.
3. You need a programmer to burn the code, search the microcontrollers section.

mplab and ic prog

search on this forum you could find many resources that could be helpful such as books, sample programs

prog net icprog 105c

Hi !

First of all there are updated versions of both MPLAB (the old and stable 5.70.40 and newest 7.1) and ICPROG (105D). When having spare time try to download the new versions (but your software versions work very well with 16F84). Check the Microchip site and ICPROG site.

Answering the questions:

1) You can write the asm programs in any editor, just save in TXT format with .asm extension. The MPLAB is the easier environment but needs more resources. Even the EDIT from DOS can do that and after this you can compile with MPASM (the DOS assembler for PICmicros).