Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to amplify small swings in voltage?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jcarlson

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I've built a first, small AM radio and I'm just getting into electronics. I'd like to add a station strength indicator LED. The voltage exiting the amplifier stage varies by a small amount, 100 or 200 mV, based on signal. How can I amplify that swing such that the LED will vary output in a meaningful way? Just hooking it up with a proper resistor only gives the smallest of light flickers with signal changes.

Thanks for any direction you can give!

from which point you are extracting the signal strength voltage ?
after detector or any other? How did you measure it as 100/200mv?

Yes, after the detector and just after the amplifier (class B dual transistor). I used my volt meter to watch the change in voltage as I played with the tuning dial. I know it's not exact, but it was in the range of a couple hundred mV as the signal changed.

Hi,

What frequency? Audio or RF?

Klaus

Audio frequency. I know there must be a way to do this, I just don't know which components will get me in the right direction.