Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

How to allocate the address of slave in I2C spec?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jjww97030

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Jul 19, 2002
Messages
17
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
41
Pls give me the answer. Thanks! :D
 

svicent

Full Member level 6
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
322
Helped
32
Reputation
62
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,293
Please be more explicit. Which IC are you taking about?
 

barny

Member level 1
Joined
Apr 6, 2002
Messages
34
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
415
i2c address of slave chip

The slaves are hard-wired. Most of the i2c chips like eeproms, etc., allow you to modify one or two bits of the address, depending I believe more on the pins available on the chip package rather than for any other reason. So, if you're using a chip with built-in i2c, look at its specification and it will tell you the possible addresses it can have. If you're doing a software i2c slave, choose an address yourself, respecting that there can only be one slave at each address, and respecting the limitations on address of any other chips on the bus.
 

btbass

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 20, 2001
Messages
1,897
Helped
438
Reputation
880
Reaction score
287
Trophy points
1,363
Location
Oberon
Activity points
12,861
You dont normaly have addresses on I2C, you have chip select lines?
:?
 

hot_chmock

Full Member level 2
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Messages
120
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
Where it is nice
Activity points
1,032
I have never see a I2c chips with a chip select. :?

A software address is use to access the chip and like barny wrote on some chips one or more lines can be be connected to gnd to change the address. This allow to use more than 1 chips of the same type on the same bus and select the component to read/write.

hc
 

huahua

Member level 2
Joined
Sep 21, 2002
Messages
42
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
263
No chip select in I2C devices.

In you own system, You can assign any address to THE DEVICE designed by yourself, as long as the ADDRESS is unique.

If you want to produce the DEVICE, then you have to get an address from Philips.

Hope it helps
 

Trishool

Full Member level 1
Joined
Jul 12, 2001
Messages
97
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
Himalayas.(mount K2)
Activity points
825
jjww97030

jjww97030

The chip has got three lines 1010, A0 ,A1 ,A2 R/W ,hardwire A0,A1,A2
to get the address you require Simple :wink: ,It depends from chip ti chip
you may find only A0 for example in some chips followed by page addresses ,



Ts
 

big_woodster

Newbie level 2
Joined
Oct 2, 2002
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
30
I2C addressing

There are no chip selects on the I2C bus. Each device requires a unique address. Addresses are defined from an internal "base address" and usually (but not always) a few external pins to select the low order address bits (ie, A2, A1, A0). Some devices may take too much of the address space, such as certain EEPROMs, and may not have externally selectable low order address bits. They just operate at the default "base address".

The fun begins when you need to put more of these devices on a single I2C bus, and there are no available address spaces. Then you will need to use either an I2C switch (see philips) or use some sort of I2C I/O device to drive the pin selectable address bits (indirect addressing method).

Hope this helps.

-w
 

arrow

Newbie level 4
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
5
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
36
I've withh EEPROM with I2C bus, the address assignment to EEPROM was through 3 address pins, Also you can find a lot of I2C aspects from PHi/lips or Cta?lyst companies.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top