Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how to add DLL files to MS VC++ and use them?

Status
Not open for further replies.

elrayes

Full Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
pcan_usb.dll

Hi

I want to know how to add ready made DLL files to MS visual studio and use them in VC++, I tried to search google but find nothing could help, I know its easy but for me not cause i'm not an experienced programmer.

Thanks

add dll vc++

try here, not sure if this if for the right version of MSVC...

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/3y1sfaz2(VS.80).aspx

Haven't done this in C++ myself as I tend to cheat and use C# for gui stuff and using dll's is far easier.

Best of luck :)

call dll vc++

Hi elrayes,

Could be done with LoadLibrary(), GetProcAddress(). If function pointer is valid (!= NULL) you simply call dll function. lpProcName parameter is name of function stored in dll. consult MSDN.

Best regards,
Alex

how to add dll to vc++ project

The term ready made DLL files isn't completely clear. To my opinion, it would involve a *.lib and *.h or *.hpp file supplied with the dll (and a documentation and example application, too) . Then interfacing the dll is easy. Otherwise, you have to generate an import library and possibly must guess the function parameters and calling type. In case of a c++ dll, recognizable by the MS typical decorated names, it's easier, cause the tools can extract the function parameters from the dll.

how to add dll to c++ project