Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How does HFSS calculate Z Parameters?

Status
Not open for further replies.

christopherdean

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I am new to HFSS (a few weeks ago I was asked to learn it without any prior knowledge of it or antenna simulation), and I have a model of an Interdigitated Capacitor, which we are trying to find the capacitance of. I have a lump port across the two "digits" for an excitation and I recently added a dielectric(Polyamide, Er=4.3) and PEC under the capacitor(the cap will be applied to a metal surface). I plotted the Z parameters, notably the imaginary component as the real was ~=0. From this I calculated C from Z= 1/(jwC) \[\to\] C = -1/(2*pi*f*z), with ~=1pF results. My advisor liked this but wanted to know how HFSS calculates Z parameters. I tried to look online and through the help but I cannot figure it out. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I attached the file I've been using if that helps.

View attachment IDC.zip

Thanks.