Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

How can I model bottom plate capacitance in a circuit?

Status
Not open for further replies.

viperpaki007

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
270
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Finland
Activity points
3,393
Hi,

I am using MOS capacitor in one of my circuits which is quite sensitive to bottom plate capacitance of the MOS capacitor. Unfortunately It seems that MOS capacitor model in the design kit does not include bottom plate capacitance. How Can i model bottom plate capacitance in the circuit then?

thanks
 

dick_freebird

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Mar 4, 2008
Messages
6,951
Helped
2,035
Reputation
4,074
Reaction score
1,882
Trophy points
1,393
Location
USA
Activity points
55,711
Re: MOS capacitor Model.

You might be better off to use a MOSFET of appropriate geometry.
But some MOSFET models converge poorly with shorted terminals.

Suppose you began with the desired moscap value, picked off the
gate geometry, simulated an equal geometry MOSFET-as-cap,
and picked off its Cdb, Csb, Cbs (well-sub) parasitics and put them
in as pcapacitors (if C-V junction nonlinearity is not a concern)
or correct-area, correct-type diodes that are lvsIgnored?
 

leo_o2

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Sep 3, 2004
Messages
1,324
Helped
277
Reputation
556
Reaction score
240
Trophy points
1,343
Location
China
Activity points
5,761
Re: MOS capacitor Model.

If you need NMOS in p-sub, there is no parasite bottom capacitance.
If you need PMOS, you can add diode (formed between Nwell and p-sub) model for this parasite bottom capacitance.
 

viperpaki007

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
270
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Finland
Activity points
3,393
Re: MOS capacitor Model.

@Leo_o2 So you mean that for PMOScap, i should connect a diode of same size from bulk to ground. (Where Bulk is Nwell and ground is connected to P-Sub)?
 

leo_o2

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Sep 3, 2004
Messages
1,324
Helped
277
Reputation
556
Reaction score
240
Trophy points
1,343
Location
China
Activity points
5,761
Re: MOS capacitor Model.

Yes. Process might provide this model.
 

viperpaki007

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
270
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Finland
Activity points
3,393
Re: MOS capacitor Model.

Diode model also include an dc on resistance. Do you have any idea that what will be its value for MOS diode?
 

erikl

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
8,112
Helped
2,687
Reputation
5,354
Reaction score
2,284
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Germany
Activity points
44,153
Re: MOS capacitor Model.

dc on resistance ... what will be its value for MOS diode?
R = Vr/Is ; Is = Js*Area

Vr = reverse voltage (nwell to substrate)
Is = reverse saturation current
Js = reverse saturation current density

Is or Js are SPICE parameters usually declared in (MOS) diode models. Js(BSIM default)=1e-4 A/m² = 1e-16 A/(µm)²
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top