Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

hobby soldering: do you guys go lead-free

Status
Not open for further replies.

csdave

Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all,
I am fairly new to the forum as I've recently picked up an old passion: that of building circuits. I'm starting with some domotics and robot applications - yes I am a computer scientist ;) - and now that I am ready to put the pieces together I've been looking at lead-based vs lead-free solder.

What do you guys use in your home labs?
I've done a little soldering in the past and back then I didn't even know lead was a dangerous metal. Now, the risk of being contaminated with lead is negligible if you wash your hands after your work, but still if there is a safer alternative, I'll be happy to go for it.

From what I have read, it looks like the problem with lead-free solder is that there are a lot more flux fumes and that these are generally more dangerous.

so my question is: what do you guys use? Do you have any equipement to avoid inhaling fumes? Fume extractors? Fans? Masks?

Thanks

Dave

actually the lead oxide can penetrate through the skin but for sure the washing is a good practice. The best Lead-free solder I found is from Balver Zinn. Before this I tried many other solder and all they were awful. With Balver Zinn you don't feel any difference when you solder - smooth, shiny and glossy solders just like you use lead. So there is no sense to continue contaminating your body with lead, especially if you know that lead once came in your body is very hard to be taken away and bones and teeth will suffer for sure.