Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

high frequency pulse generator?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kydong

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I want to generate a rectangular pulse with width from 2ns to 10ns (perfect 5ns). PRI is about 10 (micro-second)
The amplitude of the pulse is about 5v to 20v or depend, the amplitude is not importance.
How can I make them ?
Are there any IC do its requirement?
Thaks you all!

Hi!

I have played with XR2206 a long time ago when I was a student for my final year project. I remember it was a bit expensive though. I can't say I remember a lot of its functionality but please take a look, it might suit you.

Thanks for four help. But it's quite not suitable, this IC only make the pulse with fmax=1Mz, I need the much higher this frequency...How can I solve this?

Some parameters missing form your specification:
- pulse rise- and falltime
- pulse generator output impedance
- intended load

XR2206 is surely unable to generate fast pulses in the intended range
Fast logic ICs can possibly achieve the pulse parameters (depending on additional requirements) but no output voltage above 5 V

Reactions: kydong

kydong

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
if you need a regtangular wave then (if i am not wrong)...use 555 and take output from the 6th pin...mean from cpacitor the wave generating there are very similar to the triangular wave....

Some parameters missing form your specification:
- pulse rise- and falltime
- pulse generator output impedance
- intended load

XR2206 is surely unable to generate fast pulses in the intended range