Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

HFSS-ciruclar waveguide port field display

Status
Not open for further replies.

guyvaisman

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello ,i'm new to hfss and this forum and i have a question that i hope will be answerd:
i'm trying to simulate a 20mm radius circular waveguide in hfss. i did a port solution only on the first 6 modes
and only the 3rd and the 6th mode made sense to me . that matched my analytical calculations concering the cut-off frequancies and the port field display matches the shape the electric field should be ( the 1st mode is a TM mode- the electric field is radial , and the 2nd one is a TE mode -the electric field is azimuthical).i've add the port field display images to make myself clear . it seems to me that i should be using only the 3rd and 6th modes. what am i doing wrong ?
thank alot !
guy .

Attachments

• Mode1.png
    Mode1.png
    86.6 KB · Views: 133
  • Mode3.png
    Mode3.png
    105.5 KB · Views: 141
  • Mode4.png
    Mode4.png
    96.8 KB · Views: 143
  • Mode2.png
    Mode2.png
    97 KB · Views: 131
  • Mode5.png
    Mode5.png
    96.9 KB · Views: 142
  • Mode6.png
    Mode6.png
    90.9 KB · Views: 146

You might find Moreno or Southworth helpful references for circular waveguide modes. The mode numbers in HFSS do not often match the numbering conventions in the literature. That adds fun to the effort.

Reactions: njzyfr

njzyfr

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Hi guyvaisman,