Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

HFSS and windows vista

Status
Not open for further replies.

red-sun

Newbie level 6
Joined
May 13, 2005
Messages
14
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,482
hfss vista

I have found that HFSS can not be installed in pc using windows vista, even the system was destroyed, do someone else has met such a problem?
 

NiGo_bmstu

Member level 1
Joined
Oct 26, 2007
Messages
32
Helped
10
Reputation
20
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,458
hfss 11 vista

red-sun said:
I have found that HFSS can not be installed in pc using windows vista, even the system was destroyed, do someone else has met such a problem?
on official Ansoft site post the list of compatibility operation system. Vista is absent here.

System Requirements

Windows

Processor (32-bit): All fully compatible 686 (or later) instruction set processors, 500 MHz
Processor (64-bit): All fully compatible x86/64 instruction set processors
Hard Drive Space: 400 MB minimum, 5 GB recommended
RAM: 512 MB
Supported Operating Systems: Microsoft Windows® XP Professional, Windows XP x64 Edition, Windows Server 2003, Windows Server 2003 x64 Edition
Linux

Processor (32-bit): All fully compatible 686 (or later) instruction set processors, 500 MHz
Processor (64-bit): All fully compatible x86/64 instruction set processors
Hard Drive Space: 400 MB minimum, 5 GB recommended
RAM: 512 MB
Supported Operating Systems: Red Hat Enterprise Linux® v3 and v4
Solaris

Processor: UltraSPARC-III (or later) processors, 450 MHz
Hard Drive Space: 800 MB minimum, 5 GB recommended
RAM: 512 MB
Supported Operating Systems: Solaris® 8, 9, 10

http://www.ansoft.com/products/hf/hfss/system.cfm
 

Azulykit

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Feb 18, 2007
Messages
1,121
Helped
219
Reputation
436
Reaction score
112
Trophy points
1,343
Location
All over the Map.
Activity points
8,407
hfss for vista

I was curious about your question and asked one of the Ansoft AE's about it. His response was that they do not currently do not support Vista but that you could probably run Vista in XP computability mode anyway. He was not aware of anything that would cause damage to the Vista OS in HFSS.

Just a comment. I do not have any direct experience here and plan to continue with 64 bit XP Pro.
 

mahojazz

Member level 1
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
38
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,489
ansoft hfss vista

if i am not wrong, HFSS 11 does support Vista.
 

ayesha928

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
26
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,430
hfss windows 7

Hi !
Can u please tell me exactly, if HFSS 11 does support vista then how to install HFSS 11 on that?
 

VSWR

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Feb 7, 2002
Messages
749
Helped
103
Reputation
206
Reaction score
23
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
5,425
vista hfss

1. right click setup.exe
2. select Properties
3. select Compatibility folder
4. check Run this program in compatibility mode for Windows XP SP2
5. click OK
6. double click setup.exe
 

ayesha928

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
26
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,430
hfss 10 vista

Thanks for your reply...
I did the same but still it didn't work.. :(
Kindly tell me which version you are using?
 

wireless man

Full Member level 1
Joined
Feb 24, 2008
Messages
98
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,963
hfss11 vista

I ever installed HFSS10 in my vista system (bussiness version) sucessfully.
 

winglj

Full Member level 4
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
195
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,063
hfss system requirement

I have installed the HFSS 11 in my laptop with Vista, with floating license in our sever. Everything goes well.
 

ayesha928

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
26
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,430
hfss 12

Hi all !
I just remembered that actually license file may also be a problem. but i think problem might b with setup of hfss 11... I have installed libraries well but the problem i m getting is with HFSS 11. Kindly tell me from where u got the HFSS 11?? or can anyone upload that....

Thanks
 

fore333

Newbie level 1
Joined
Aug 27, 2008
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,285
hfss windows vista

I also facing the same problem..i am using vista ( home premium).I had the solution before by changing the compatibilty but the problem stil there. any others solution for this?
 

simsi

Newbie level 3
Joined
Oct 28, 2005
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,318
hfss vista

For installing HFSS in Windows Vista open a command control, open the setup folder and type:

setup.exe /z ignore_os

Compatiblity is not officially assured by Ansoft, I had a small crash once but other than that never any real problem. Graphics are sometimes a bit weird, for me sometimes it didn't show the main part of the window with the geometry and so on, it turned a bit black or so, but when you like click or zoom or pan, it rebuilds.
I think that's better than not using it at all.

S.
 

Mr.Me

Newbie level 3
Joined
Mar 6, 2009
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,303
hfss system requirements

Hi evreybody!

I've succesfully installed HFSS 11 on my pc with windows vista business edition. Just turn off the UAC - user account control and restart your pc before installing HFSS. Then turn it on when installation is complete and restart your pc again.
Anyway I've encountered several HFSS crashes during my work ad graphics are sometimes a bit weird.
 

shahid78

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jul 29, 2006
Messages
289
Helped
34
Reputation
68
Reaction score
14
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,290
hfss vista

Hi everyone

just wondering, did anyone successfully install HFSS 11 on system having windows vista home premium operating system ?

i have tried compatability mode but its not working
i will appreciate if anyone share the solution to this issue


thanks
 

geesewei

Newbie level 1
Joined
May 20, 2009
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,284
ansoft vista

It worked! Actually you have to click the 'work as administrator' as well as XP compatibility.
 

ravi8331

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jul 4, 2008
Messages
237
Helped
33
Reputation
66
Reaction score
16
Trophy points
1,298
Location
India
Activity points
2,726
hfss os compatibility

i am using HFSS 11 on my laptop having window vista basic operating system.........
i have no problem uptill now..................
 

srikanth nampally

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
22
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,411
install hfss vista

hello...u must have vista premium then only u can install hfss
 

CG0210794

Member level 3
Joined
Sep 19, 2008
Messages
61
Helped
17
Reputation
32
Reaction score
16
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,580
hfss no vista

Ansoft HFSS 11 does not support Vista yet. Take a look at the link, and note, that for HFSS 11, vista is classified as limited. Meaning that it is not compatible with vista, yet. It may work, but with problems. My suggestion is to downgrade or dual-boot windows xp pro.

http://www.ansoft.com/products/supported-operating-systems.cfm?product=hfss
(it is a PDF file)

Cesar
 

ravi8331

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jul 4, 2008
Messages
237
Helped
33
Reputation
66
Reaction score
16
Trophy points
1,298
Location
India
Activity points
2,726
hfss for windows 7

no i have windows vista home not premium or business ....and i use HFSS 11 on that....i hv no problem with that....................
 

ahsaan

Member level 5
Joined
Apr 25, 2009
Messages
81
Helped
13
Reputation
26
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Pakistan
Activity points
1,681
ansoft for vista

HFSS v11 is easily installed in vista and works well with no issues
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top