Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help! with LEAD ACID Specification

Status
Not open for further replies.

McFly123

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Can someone help me translate this battery specification? I'm new to this. I wanted to know the Ampere/Hour so we could calculate the battery life for our devices. here is the specs given on the battery's side.

cycle use: 14.4-15.0V(25 degree Celsius)

initial current: less than 1.35A

Standby use: 13.6-13.8(25)

12V4.0P/20HR
thanks a lot guys

The spec as you have written it is not comprehendable. cycle use......... 13.8(25) are the charging voltages. its that 12V4.OP/20HR looks like its meant to read " nominal 12 V output at 4 Amps for 20 hours" { 80 AH} ? Is it as big as a car battery ?
Frank

Comparing with complete (or correctly spelled?) specifications of other batteries, it's apparently a standard 4.0 Ah sealed lead-acid battery.

Lets go back to basics. The battery specification is driven by the load requirements for example:

I want to supply 12 V at a load current of 10A for an operational time of 20h
The solution will be a 12 V battery with a 200Ah capacity
The charge time will be at least 200h (full charge cycle)
The above specification is for an ambient temperature of 20 deg C.
For lower temperatures and not doing deep discharge and charge cycles the efficiency of power in and out can drop to as low as 50%.
For too high an ambient temperature the operational life of the battery is shorten.