Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

help with 4 wheel drive turning

Status
Not open for further replies.

_SquiD_

Advanced Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi there, guys.

I'm quite new to robotics and I have a Lynxmotion 4 wheel-drive platform at my disposal. The platform is​
already equipped with 4 DC motors.
Can anyone help me out with some papers / tutorials about the turning concept of such a robot​
platform? I would prefer that the left / right turn to be made without moving around to much.

Thanks in advance,

-SQD-​

@Sckoarn: I already own a control board with ATMEGA64 from Digilent: Cerebot-II. I also acquired recently some L293NE H-Bridge components and all I've needed now is the principle of how can I turn the robot.

-SQD-

Ok,
I am not familure with what software you have to program your bot.
To turn or pivot on the spot, you need to make one side go forward and the other go reverse. If the Bot was a tracked vs. wheels, I think you can do the same thing in both cases. If you are using RobotC, there are functions that do this. I have only had a chance to skim the reference manual for RobotC and I can hardly wait to get into it. Currently I am using the Mindstorm Graphical programming interface, which is good for learning.

Creating a pivot routine was the first thing I tryed to do. I got it, but the task of line following did not require it, so I put that off for a while.

Links:
Lynxmotion - Software

and

**broken link removed**

The microsoft product is interesting.

Sckoarn

Last edited: