Status
Not open for further replies.

Cesar0182

Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I tell you that I am new to this forum, I have limited knowledge of vhdl, but I am a novice in verilog. A couple of days ago I'm trying to translate a module from a verilog project to vhdl, but this makes use of other modules, I have managed to translate this, but I have problems translating the following lines of a module
Code:
`define WBUSRANGE 32*idx+31:32*idx  // Incrementing indexes within generate below
generate
   genvar   idx;
   for (idx=0; idx<=25; idx = idx+1)

assign o_wbus_count[10*idx+9:10*idx] = wbus_count[idx];

wire wen = i_wbus_enable[idx] & i_wbus_wen & upper_adrs_match &
             & (i_wbus_addr[20:16] == i_wbus_fws[5*idx+4:5*idx]);

wire almost_full_d = i_wbus_enable[idx] & ( ff_write_count > 
      Almost_Full_Depth );

dreg_clr #(1) dc_amf( .c( i_aur_clk ), .ar( i_rst ), .e( 1'b1 ), .d( 
      almost_full_d ), .q( almost_full[idx] ) );

assign o_wbus_waddr[`WBUSRANGE] = {13'h0, ff_dout[50:32]};
      assign o_wbus_wdata[`WBUSRANGE] = ff_dout[31:0];

end
endgenerate

Can someone please help me with this, thanks in advance.

I don't understand why you would have a problem with this code, it's very straight forward...

Use a VHDL generate and a for loop.
As you can see translating the code should be relatively easy...

Code Verilog - [expand]
assign o_wbus_count[10*idx+9:10*idx] = wbus_count[idx];

Code VHDL - [expand]
o_wbus_count(10*idx+9 downto 10*idx) <= wbus_count(idx);

Translating between the two usually requires knowing both languages. The bigger question is why would you bother translating a perfectly good piece of Verilog code into VHDL. Simulators and synthesis tools are almost all mixed mode simulators/synthesizers by default.