Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

help for Pic c compiler

Status
Not open for further replies.

arup

Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Sir,

I am new to Micro chip microcontroller environment.I am about to select a compiler(for 12/14/16/17/18 series PIC mcu) for our project.We have to select between Hitech Pic C and CCS Pic C compiler.But price difference is huge.

Can anybody help me to choose one of them and why?

And what should be the compiler evaluation factors based on which decision can be taken?

Regards,

Arup

Go for CCS C.

Reasons:

1. You are new to microchip microcontroller programming
2. Quite cheap compared with Hi-tech C I think.
3. Routines for SPI, I2C, RS232 and other communication functions are readily available.

CCS was my choice because it creates smaller code than anything else. Smaller code = faster execution.

In my opinion:
The Hi-Tech compiler is more powerful than CCS.

The CCS compiler doesnt have a linker.

Dear Mr. btbass,

sir you said "The CCS compiler doesnt have a linker"
Is it so ? then how will this link my modules and generate hex file ??

regards,

Arup

bungee- said:
Smaller code = faster execution.
Well... that is not actually true. The smaller the code, the lesser the memory needed to store it... but, it doesn't mean it is faster. You can have very little code with many loops and many unintelligent jumps (many compilers are not optimized for that), and at the same time there can be a larger code with very precise operation, which in overall is faster...

don't mess size with speed