Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Half bridge low current

Status
Not open for further replies.

fedaye

Member level 2
Joined
Mar 4, 2015
Messages
43
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
8
Location
Istanbul
Activity points
273
Hey guys i have a half bridge like below, its all voltage waveforms are okay but the flowing current is extremely small. my resistor is a short circuited copper cable (despite the skin effect its resistance value becomes very small i have calculated it, roughly 0.09 Ω)
my operating frequency is 200 kHz.
i am doubtful about the capacitors' value (1000µF) maybe the value is very high. what do you think about this interesting stuff?
20150406_161652.jpg
Adsız.jpg

this is the waveform of the "a" point in the half bridge picture:
20150406_162001.jpg

by the way if i decrease the frequency from 200 kHz to 150 kHz then the current is increasing. (from 0.46 A to 0.72 A)

- - - Updated - - -

edit:
my capacitors are electrolytic and i have read somethings about this. someones say electrolytic capacitors can act as an inductor at high frequencies. they are not convenient for high frequency and i must use film capacitors instead of them.
i think this is sensible.
 
Last edited:

barry

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
5,144
Helped
1,116
Reputation
2,244
Reaction score
1,109
Trophy points
1,393
Location
California, USA
Activity points
28,163
First of all, you obviously have some inductance in that circuit, as evidenced by the ringing on your edges, and, yes, aluminum electrolytics can have significant inductance. But you don't tell us any thing about your switching devices, your power supply or anything else. What are you trying to do here, besides having a short-circuit? I think you need some resistance for your load.
 

Orson Cart

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jun 18, 2009
Messages
800
Helped
347
Reputation
1,146
Reaction score
558
Trophy points
1,373
Location
New Zealand
Activity points
5,973
above about 100kHz, electrolytics are inductors (or worse resonant), hence film caps used in power electronics, this why current goes up as F goes down...
 

fedaye

Member level 2
Joined
Mar 4, 2015
Messages
43
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
8
Location
Istanbul
Activity points
273
hey guys i have changed the capacitors (they are 0.68uF film capacitors) and i have a rheostat as a load but there is another problem for now;
at low currents the waveforms are okay (except effects of inductance etc)
for 0.02 Amp
26.6  0.02  19ohm.jpg

but at high currents waveforms are not normal
for 0.44 Amp:
7.2 v 0.44 a.jpg

and for 3.8 Amp:
3.8 amper.jpg


current.jpg
 

barry

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
5,144
Helped
1,116
Reputation
2,244
Reaction score
1,109
Trophy points
1,393
Location
California, USA
Activity points
28,163
Maybe you're killing your power supply. Look at the voltage across the bridge. Maybe add a large cap right across there.
 
  • Like
Reactions: fedaye

    fedaye

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

fedaye

Member level 2
Joined
Mar 4, 2015
Messages
43
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
8
Location
Istanbul
Activity points
273
my circuit is now like the picture below but the low current problem is still valid. All of the voltage waveforms are okay, very very interesting situation, i don't have any inductor, maybe there are inductive effects of the cables
20150408_193633.jpg

the load's waveform:(between two ends of the load) load is 10 Ω rheostat
20150408_122239.jpg

current must be 1-2 A here not 0.02 A so interesting
 
Last edited:

Orson Cart

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jun 18, 2009
Messages
800
Helped
347
Reputation
1,146
Reaction score
558
Trophy points
1,373
Location
New Zealand
Activity points
5,973
how inductive is your resistor? You need to show a photo of your entire circuit and close ups, you are doing something wrong...
 

fedaye

Member level 2
Joined
Mar 4, 2015
Messages
43
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
8
Location
Istanbul
Activity points
273
how inductive is your resistor? You need to show a photo of your entire circuit and close ups, you are doing something wrong...

it is a rheostat but not important same situation is valid with short circuited load. i will try to upload a picture
 

fedaye

Member level 2
Joined
Mar 4, 2015
Messages
43
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
8
Location
Istanbul
Activity points
273
it must carry high current therefore i have used many cables
20150410_124555.jpg
20150410_124617.jpg
20150410_124642.jpg
20150410_124439.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20150410_124448.jpg
    20150410_124448.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 8
  • 20150410_124459.jpg
    20150410_124459.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 7
Last edited:

Orson Cart

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jun 18, 2009
Messages
800
Helped
347
Reputation
1,146
Reaction score
558
Trophy points
1,373
Location
New Zealand
Activity points
5,973
Ha, what is the resonant freq of your load with your 10uF caps (20uF effective)? if you strike the early part of a resonant half cycle then the circulating current can be in the order of a few amps but the power supply will be supplying only the losses in the ckt, i.e. fet res losses and I^2R losses elsewhere..... this looks to be what is happening....

p.s. a high power wire-wound rheostat will be inductive......
 

fedaye

Member level 2
Joined
Mar 4, 2015
Messages
43
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
8
Location
Istanbul
Activity points
273
Ha, what is the resonant freq of your load with your 10uF caps (20uF effective)? if you strike the early part of a resonant half cycle then the circulating current can be in the order of a few amps but the power supply will be supplying only the losses in the ckt, i.e. fet res losses and I^2R losses elsewhere..... this looks to be what is happening....

p.s. a high power wire-wound rheostat will be inductive......

did you mean there is a parallel resonant therefore the current is very small?
it is not about the load, same situation is valid with short circuited load.
i think i must try lower capacitances than 10uF like 0.68uF then if there is a resonant i can get rid of it
true?
there are 5 parallel cables between Drains and sources of the mosfets maybe they have some inductances that can cause the resonant with 10 uF capacitors.
 

fedaye

Member level 2
Joined
Mar 4, 2015
Messages
43
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
8
Location
Istanbul
Activity points
273
and also i will try this to reduce inductances of the parallel wires
images.jpg
 

Orson Cart

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jun 18, 2009
Messages
800
Helped
347
Reputation
1,146
Reaction score
558
Trophy points
1,373
Location
New Zealand
Activity points
5,973
So - highly inductive then, if you have the same result with a short as a load, then there must be something wrong somewhere with the connections (open circuit some where?) as the two cases are markedly different - re-check your build carefully....!

A true short for a load should destroy one or both mosfets pretty quickly unless your rail splitting caps are very small....
 
  • Like
Reactions: fedaye

    fedaye

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

fedaye

Member level 2
Joined
Mar 4, 2015
Messages
43
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
8
Location
Istanbul
Activity points
273
So - highly inductive then, if you have the same result with a short as a load, then there must be something wrong somewhere with the connections (open circuit some where?) as the two cases are markedly different - re-check your build carefully....!

A true short for a load should destroy one or both mosfets pretty quickly unless your rail splitting caps are very small....

i really wonder the reason, if there is an open circuit how can voltage waveforms become true or how can 3A current flow with short circuit?
i can not imagine anything this is an unusual problem
i checked many place by a multimeter against open circuit (by measuring resistance)
they looked normal
maybe i will surrender :(

- - - Updated - - -

if i decrease the frequency:

if i increase the current by decreasing load resistance:
 
Last edited:

Orson Cart

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jun 18, 2009
Messages
800
Helped
347
Reputation
1,146
Reaction score
558
Trophy points
1,373
Location
New Zealand
Activity points
5,973
you said the result was the same for a short, but now you admit it is not the same: 3A versus 0.02A with your "load" (unspecified).

Changing the operating frequency will give you some insights...

how about showing us the voltage across the load (not simply the fet mid point to gnd)
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top