Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Getting started with DSP; AD SHARC (need advice)

Status
Not open for further replies.

vandelay

Advanced Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
sharc dsp loader file

Hello folks,

I need some advice regarding DSP development.. I am an EE student on starting my final year on school, I've programmed alot of stuff in the past but has never bumped into real DSPs before. I have been working on various dsPIC30F series devices for quite some time, but I feel the time has come to get aquainted with real floating-point DSPs.

So here the other day, I laid out a small PCB for the ADSP-2136x (SHARC) from Analog Devices. A very basic board it is, primarily breaking out the pins to connectors, but with regulators and oscillator onboard plus a bunch of decoupling caps...

I noticed it has quite a bit of internal RAM, and it has SPI boot options.. If I would want to say hello to it making it run a SPI "handshake" exchanging some bits and bytes (uploading some code and running it), without adding flash or external RAM, could I do this from a microcontroller and some EEPROM? Any advice on the setup?

Thanks in advance

analog devices spi boot mcu

hi vandelay,

you can boot adsp2136x from primary spi interface /those with dedicated pins/ using spi flash memory, spi eeprom or spi master processor.

best regards,
stroma

vandelay

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
adsp spi boot mcu