Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

FPGA jumping logic

Status
Not open for further replies.
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am new to FPGA programming and I am using HDL Verilog (Using Vivado) to generate a game similar to geometry dash.

I've written a code such that whilst the button is being pressed the block jumps up and down in the same x position. Once the button is released, the floor changes to 32 pixels above the initial floor and this stays as the new floor position.

However, this was not what was trying to achieve. My code makes it so the floor position is dictated by whether the button is being pressed or not. I was trying to make it such that when the button is pressed the block keeps jumping and if a certain condition is met (i.e. The floor position changes) then the block starts jumping from the new floor position and if the button is released the block rests on the new floor position (exactly like the platforming in geometry dash).

I can see that I need to make the floor position and button press independent but I have no idea how to do it. Any guidance is appreciated

My code referring to the jumping logic:

Code:
module jumping#(parameter

FLR_POS = 11'd696,

BLK_HGT = 11'd32,

INL_BLK_X = 11'd300,

INL_BLK_Y = FLR_POS - BLK_HGT,

SPD = 11'd32,

ACCEL = 11'd2)(

//input pix_clk,

input game_clk,

input [4:0] btn,

output [10:0] blkpos_x,

output [10:0] blkpos_y

);

reg [10:0] floor = 11'd696;

reg [10:0] blkpos_x_r = 11'd300;

reg [10:0] blkpos_y_r = 11'd664;

reg jump_state;

reg [10:0] spd_y = 11'd32;

reg [10:0] acc_y = 11'd2;

always@(posedge game_clk) begin