Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

FP245RL interfacing problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

simonharvey

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
ft245r close error

Hello,

My name is Simon Harvey and I am a design engineer working for a company called SCL Limited (down here in Dunedin, New Zealand).

I have been given the extreme joy of designing a USB controlled waveform generator, which used a Spartan 3E FPGA. Most of the genarator works flawlessly however there is a very annoying bug that we just have no idea of how to fix.

This bug is due to the reliability of FT245RL data IO after a specific power up sequence:
1. If we plug the generator into the USB host and then turn the generator on we get perfect IO.
2. however, if we power up the generator before plugging it into the USB host then we get IO errors.

Is there anybody out here who has seen this error before?

We have done alot of testing to try and find the source of the error, the tests that we have done include:
1. We thought that it was a problem with the reset circuit (ie. with R18 & R19 somehow messing up with the on board POR) however removing these dosent get rid of the problem.
2. We have also tried powering up the FT245R and the FPGA individually, ie. resetting the FPGA once it goes into the error state but that dosen't seem to do anything as well.