Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

For Loop in one clock cycle?

Status
Not open for further replies.

eshbonzie

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hey guys,

Im kinda new to VHDL and trying to implement an algorithm which does the follwoing:

it compares a pixel (8 bits) with 640(640*8bits = 5120 bits) other pixels, if a match is found a matching counter is incremented to count the number of matches.

I designed an entity for this as follows:

entity MatchingalgorithmModule is
Port ( Clk : in STD_LOGIC;
En : in STD_LOGIC;
FrameLine_Bitstream : in STD_LOGIC_VECTOR (5119 downto 0);
FrameLineNumber : in STD_LOGIC_VECTOR (8 downto 0);
CenterPixel : in STD_LOGIC_VECTOR (7 downto 0);
MatchesFound : out STD_LOGIC_VECTOR (13 downto 0));
end MatchingalgorithmModule;

architecture Behavioral of MatchingalgorithmModule is

signal MatchesFound_s : STD_LOGIC_Vector(13 downto 0);

begin

process(Clk)

variable matchCount_v : integer := 0;
variable index_v : integer := 5120;

begin

if(rising_edge(Clk)) then

for i in 1 to 640 loop

if(FrameLine_Bitstream((index_v-1) downto (index_v-8)) = CenterPixel) then

matchCount_v := matchCount_v + 1;

end if;

index_v := index_v - 8 ;

end loop;

index_v := 5120;

end if;

if(Clk'event and Clk = '1') then

MatchesFound_s <= conv_std_logic_vector(matchCount_v, 14);
matchCount_v := 0;

end if;

end process;

MatchesFound <= MatchesFound_s;

end Behavioral;

I wrote a textbench to generate random values for testing the entity as follows:

stim_proc: PROCESS

VARIABLE seed1, seed2 : positive; -- Seed values for random generator