Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Exporting .dxf file from CST (Problem in unit)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nickko

Newbie level 3
Joined
Apr 27, 2015
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
12
Hi all,

I plan to export .dxf file from CST into ADS layout.
The unit I used in designing CST is mm but after i import the .dxf file in ads. The unit becomes mil.
So, how can I maintain the unit in mm from CST to ADS?
Anyone can help on this?

Thanks.
 

RealAEL

Full Member level 6
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
398
Helped
286
Reputation
574
Reaction score
262
Trophy points
1,343
Location
Hotel California
Activity points
4,526
Which version of ADS are you using? If it is ADS 2011.01 or later simply make sure that you are performing the import into a library that is configured with a technology that uses mm as the layout units and not the default mils. It is best to creat this library prior to performing the import. Changing the units after you import the DXF data is not easy and may break any designs that already exist in that library.
 

volker@muehlhaus

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 11, 2014
Messages
2,572
Helped
1,002
Reputation
2,008
Reaction score
983
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
16,577
Most DXF data has only numbers, without the unit specified in the file. In this case we have to KNOW how to interpret the numbers, and that is the typical error source: data was exported in one unit, and the import interprets the numbers as another unit, so that the resulting layout is too large (mm data interpreted as mils) or too small (mils data interpreted as mm) . Only a few DXF files do have the unit specified in the file.

If it is ADS 2011.01 or later simply make sure that you are performing the import into a library that is configured with a technology that uses mm as the layout units and not the default mils.

Technically correct, but often the choice of library unit depends on the user's preferences also.

If we accept minor rounding issues, an alternative way is to choose the DXF unit in the "Options" dialog during import (button "Options"). Then, we can import mm data into a mils library, and the dimensions will be converted. The only disadvantage are minor rounding issues.
 
Last edited:

Nickko

Newbie level 3
Joined
Apr 27, 2015
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
12
Thanks RealAEL and volker@muehlhaus.

I managed to solve my problem by changing the unit in the "more options" button.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top