Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

explanation of how to translate C code into verilog

keikaku

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am brand new to Verilog. I am taking a course. If I am in the wrong place, please let me know.

I am trying to understand how to translate the following C code into Verilog. I just do not get how. Any help is appreciated.

x = 0;
for (i=0; i < 3; i++ ){
x = 2x + 1;
}

Any explanation of how to this can be done ? I suppose this is simple code, but Verilog seems difficult.

That should be trivial, a simple internet search will give you the results, you can do that on your own!

The bigger question, do you want to compute the value of x (which I am assuming would be of type reg), on every rising edge of the clock or you want to have the computation under 1 clock cycle?

Formally, the code can be converted to verilog by replacing { } with begin end.
An iteration loop in Verilog describes however parallel logic, respectively it will be calculated at once. Otherwise you have to design a clocked sequence (finite state machine).
As the given code has constant parameters, it will be reduced by Verilog synthesis tool to a constant assignment x = 7.

Hi,

while it is possible to translate C into verilog ... I still recommend to remind that
* C is a software language, where line after line is processed
* Verilog is a hardware description language, where all lines are processed in parallel

Thus C and Verilog have rather different timing output.