Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Every well must have at least one well tap(again

Status
Not open for further replies.

junsik

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Feb 17, 2015
Messages
23
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
207
DRC rule about well tap

hi i have some problem about DRC check
when I run DRC, blow statement was shown.
"Every well must have at least one well tap"

How can I solve the problem??
What kind of component should be inserted in the layout?

Thank you.
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
19,753
Helped
4,346
Reputation
8,701
Reaction score
4,307
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
130,756
Re: DRC rule about well tap

Hi,

what software are you referring to?
Are you sure this is the exact error description?

Try to give more detailed information.

Klaus
 

erikl

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
8,112
Helped
2,689
Reputation
5,358
Reaction score
2,291
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Germany
Activity points
44,164
Re: DRC rule about well tap

"Every well must have at least one well tap"
1. How can I solve the problem??
2. What kind of component should be inserted in the layout?

1. Do exactly what the error message says: include at least one well-tap into each well region.
2. A well-tap (in case of an n-well) is an n+ diffusion in the n-well, connected by a contact to metal1 and then to VDD.
 

jmh6265

Newbie level 2
Joined
Aug 14, 2015
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
18
I'm a college of jusik, who made an article on this forum.
He asked about DRC error "Every well must have at least one well tap"
I want to ask you about our problem more precisely.
1) First, we tried using NW(N-well) layer to make a GDPMOS(Ground-Vdd PMOS). During DRC, the error 'Every well must have at least one well tap' occurred.
However, I already made a n+ diffusion, whose layer name is 'NACT' in the design rule I have.
2) I didn't use instance to make body tap. I just hard copied a NMOS(which is specially made for ESD protection devices) from other file(this doesn't have macro) and changed all of the layers' properties to make PMOS. <- Can this make a problem?
3) Although the DRC of this GDPMOS failed, when I use this GDPMOS in other schematics or layouts as 'instance', there was no DRC or LVS error!
4) When I made a GGNMOS(Gate-Grounded NMOS), there was no error with PACT(p+). DRC and LVS was successful for GGNMOS.
 

vijaya.kumar

Newbie level 2
Joined
Aug 14, 2015
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
8
can you show the error message where it is occurring ex: snap shot.
 

dick_freebird

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Mar 4, 2008
Messages
7,296
Helped
2,128
Reputation
4,261
Reaction score
1,988
Trophy points
1,393
Location
USA
Activity points
58,514
Are you sure that (a) NACT by itself produces a N+ region
and (b) you have it connected (according to extract rule
logic) to metal?

Try using the utility that displays your mask layers from the
mask fab Booleans, if your local setup has this, and see if
you've got everything in the vertical stack that makes an
ohmic tie.
 

jmh6265

Newbie level 2
Joined
Aug 14, 2015
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
18
Thanks for everyone who replied, and I will check whether if the NACT is really connected to metal or not.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top