Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Ethernet expert required

Status
Not open for further replies.

zape

Full Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I have an old design implementing an AUI interface. Recently we connected it to a 10BaseT ethernet Hub (without connecting the collision pair) and a PC to the hub. This was done without thinking to much and it worked. My question is why did it work? The transformers and levels are different and perhaps the AUI Tx to 10BaseT Rx may work, but in the other direction I do not find a valid explanation. Any idea?

Hi zape,

although I'm not an ethernet expert, I have a comment about this. The first ethernet interface was (I believe) the AUI, then Coax in at last the Twisted pair interface. The AUI and the coax are at the "signaling or protocol perspective" the same interfaces. However, the twisted pair has differences, like "link alive" pulses (I think every few hundred msec), full duplex capability, ... which the AUI does not have, but generally they are very alike. Both have transformers for isolation, the levels are (by my knowledge) the same, btw AUI doesnt have preemphasis, TP doesnt need the collision signaling.

I did an AUI interface circuit (using CPLDs) for wireless communication experiments and was thinking about upgrading it to the TP interface, since AUI is for quite a while obsolete, but 10Mbps TP still exists. The main diferences were the link alive pulses and the TPs preemphasis of the signals, which should be neglected for short cabling...

zape

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Hi rfmw,