Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Electrical Lenght of Microstrip Transmission Lines

denizduran

Member level 2
Joined
Sep 14, 2021
Messages
48
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
8
Activity points
454
I am building a conventional feed network using lambda/4 transformers to feed my patch antenna array. Sometimes, I need to increase the length of my transmission line to fit everything. For example, I have a 50 ohm trl as a starting point, when I split that trl I have two 100 ohm trl branches but I need those branches to be longer, so I increase their length by half a wavelength. Should I be designing all the other trl half a wavelength longer?

1.PNG
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
50,085
Helped
14,507
Reputation
29,284
Reaction score
13,453
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
287,703
Not clear what you are exactly trying to achieve. Without specified source and load impedance, we can't recognize a transformer.
 

denizduran

Member level 2
Joined
Sep 14, 2021
Messages
48
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
8
Activity points
454
The transformer isn't the point here. All I want to know is; if I change the electric length of one transmission line (like the 100 ohm trl) do I have to change the electric length of all the other trl's in the feed?
 

BigBoss

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
5,364
Helped
1,553
Reputation
3,108
Reaction score
1,427
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Turkiye
Activity points
32,336
The transformer isn't the point here. All I want to know is; if I change the electric length of one transmission line (like the 100 ohm trl) do I have to change the electric length of all the other trl's in the feed?
I didn't understand what you exactly mean but if you change the Length of any Transmission Line which is Loaded by Arbitrary Impedance, the Impedance that is seen at L=z point will also be changed.
That's why it changes depending which Impedance you desire at L=z point.
But you query is not so clear.
 

denizduran

Member level 2
Joined
Sep 14, 2021
Messages
48
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
8
Activity points
454
I am just trying to design a feed system. I need to make some of my lines longer for the transmission lines not to intersect. If I double the electric length for one tranmission line (from 180 to 360 degrees) do I have to change the dielectric length for other transmission lines in the feed?
 

BigBoss

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
5,364
Helped
1,553
Reputation
3,108
Reaction score
1,427
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Turkiye
Activity points
32,336
I am just trying to design a feed system. I need to make some of my lines longer for the transmission lines not to intersect. If I double the electric length for one tranmission line (from 180 to 360 degrees) do I have to change the dielectric length for other transmission lines in the feed?
If the Feeding Transmission Line has 50 Ohm Characteristic Impedance, no matter its length is. But don't forget that no Transmission Line has 50 Ohm "Pure" Characteristic Impedance so changing its length may change the Driving Point Impedance too. So some tuning may have necessity ( may be not, depends on how it will be tolerated )
 

LaTeX Commands Quick-Menu:

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top