Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Electret mic / Arduino configuration

Status
Not open for further replies.

frusciante89

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everybody, I have a problem with an electret mic. I searched the forum but i wasn't able to find an answer. I'm pretty new in this field so I hope you can understand my low level... :)
I am design a sound following robot, and I decided to use two electret mics. First problem is how to amplify the signal going to the Arduino. I saw several boards on sparkfun but I want to build my own. I tried to build this one:
https://www.inexglobal.com/downloads/ZX-sound_e.pdf
however, I had to make some modifications due to the available material I had in the lab:
- I used a MC33078 op amp instead of the TLC272
- I used a 10 ohm resistor instead of the 12 ohms (I had none)
- I used only electrolytic caps

This is the arduino code I'm using for the analog signal reading:

/*
AnalogReadSerial
Reads an analog input on pin 0, prints the result to the serial monitor.
Attach the center pin of a potentiometer to pin A0, and the outside pins to +5V and ground.

This example code is in the public domain.
*/

// the setup routine runs once when you press reset:
void setup() {
// initialize serial communication at 9600 bits per second:
Serial.begin(9600);
}

// the loop routine runs over and over again forever:
void loop() {
// read the input on analog pin 0:
int sensorValue = analogRead(A0);
// print out the value you read:
Serial.println(sensorValue);
delay(200); // delay in between reads for stability
}