Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Driving a high current load from a CMOS level output

Status
Not open for further replies.

cgchas

Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am considering the suitability of some components for driving a high current load from an IC chip.
The output of the IC is 5V with a maximum current of 25mA.

Description of the driven load:

Supply Voltage: 8.5V
Load Resistance: .8 Ohms
Load Current: 10.625A

The driver components I am considering are TIP120 Darlington Transistor driving a 2N3055 Power Transistor. (image attached)

I am still learning how to calculate all of this so if possible I would like some help looking over my calculations.

Something I am not sure of is how to properly apply the datasheet information for Collector-Emitter Saturation Voltage for the TIP120. (see below)

My goal is to use the drivers as switches that will ultimately be pulsed so I want the base currents to be correct to assure saturation. For now, let's
assume no pulsing.

2N3055 Power Transistor

max collector current: 15A
max base current: 7A
min hFE: 5
base current for saturation with 15A at collector: 15/5 = 3A

collector current for driving the load: 10.625A
base current for saturation: 10.625/5 = 2.125A

TIP120 Darlington Transistor

max collector current: 5A
max base current: 120mA
minimum hFE at saturation: 250
base current for saturation with 5A at collector: 5/250 = 20mA

assuming collector current for driving the 2N3055: 2.125A
base current for saturation: 2.125/250 = 8.5mA

assuming collector current for driving the 2N3055: 3A
base current for saturation: 3/250 = 12mA