Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Digit Display for Child Toy

Status
Not open for further replies.

bxmas13

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am trying to build a toy for my kid and I would like to add a digital display that he can adjust(make numbers change) with a rotary switch.
How would I accomplish this? I am a beginner, my only electronic experience is from my high school electronics class 15 years ago. :D I am willing to get my hands dirty and learn.

If this is too in depth for a beginner please feel free to let me know.

Here is the display I am talking about.

Thanks so much!

Added after 5 hours 34 minutes:

I think I found the answer. Get a 10 position rotary switch. On each position wire it so that it completes the circuit for each specific segment on the 7 segment display.

So in other words: position 1 gets wired to pins 'b' and 'c' to make the number 1.
position 2 gets wired to a, b, g, e, d and so on.

That sound right?

7seg_pinouts.png

Almost, but you'll need to include some diodes to stop cross-linking of segment combinations... The schematics below show what happens in a simplified case, where we have a 2-position switch and 3 LEDs - a, b and c. With the switch in the left hand position we want LEDs a and b to be lit, and with the switch in the right hand position we want LEDs b and c to be lit.

5_1255685881.gif